Photo Slideshow Play Photo Slideshow Pause
Mediation Figures and Statistics
Judgments related to Mediation
Publications
Press Releases
Speeches
Related Links
Relevant Papers
Hong Kong Judiciary
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

What is Mediation? < About Mediation

Print繁體版简体版
 
What is Mediation?

When a civil dispute is brought before the court to be resolved, the opposing parties will present their positions to the court in a hearing. A judge will decide the case on the evidence before him and by determining how the law is to apply. It can be a lengthy and expensive process to prepare and present a case for hearing and to have it determined by the court.

An alternative to resolving a dispute through the court system is mediation. The Judiciary has encouraged parties to use mediation through pilot schemes in family disputes, construction disputes, and disputes relating to building management. These are all in line with the underlying objectives of the Civil Justice Reform implemented on 2 April 2009, which encourage and facilitate the settlement of disputes by a means other than litigation in court.

Mediation is a voluntary process in which a trained and impartial third person, the mediator, helps the parties in dispute to reach an amicable settlement that is responsive to their needs and acceptable to all sides.

The mediator brings the parties together face-to-face in a private and confidential setting. Each party will have the opportunity of putting forward his point of view and listening to what the other has to say. The mediator does not impose a decision on the parties; but to help the parties explore the strengths and weaknesses of their cases and to identify possible solutions, to assist them to resolve the matter between themselves.

 
page top

幻燈圖片播放 幻燈圖片停止
歡迎辭
關於調解
綜合調解辦事處
建築物管理調解統籌主任辦事處
調解短片
實務指示
調解工作小組
調解統計數字
有關調解的判案書
司法機構刊物
新聞稿
演辭
相關網站
參考文件
司法機構
遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

甚麽是調解? < 關於調解

列印简体版English Version
 

當民事爭議訴諸法庭解決時,抗議的一方便須於聆訊中在法庭上闡明他們所持的立場。法官會考慮案中的證據,決定法律原則該如何應用,從而就案件作出裁決。把爭議訴諸法庭解決,必須先為聆訊作出準備,然後在法庭上陳述己方的案情,整個過程可以既漫長又昂貴。

除了訴諸法庭之外,另一類解決爭議的方法就是調解。司法機構透過推行各項調解試驗計劃,鼓勵家事、建築、及建築物管理等爭議中的當事人採用調解,藉此解決彼此的糾紛。這一切均符合於2009年4月2日起實施的民事司法制度改革的基本目標,即鼓勵及利便爭議各方採取法庭訴訟以外的其他方式解決爭議。

調解屬自願參與,由一名受過訓練和公正的第三者,即調解員,協助各方當事人在良好的氣氛下,達致既能滿足各方所需,又為各方所接受的和解。

調解員在私下及保密的環境中,安排各方當事人會面以進行調解。在此過程中,各方均有機會陳述本身的論點並聆聽對方的説法。調解員的任務並非為各方作出決定,而是幫助各方探討其論點的強弱,並尋求可行的解決方案,最終協助各方自行解決爭議。

 
回頁首