Photo Slideshow Play Photo Slideshow Pause
Welcome Message
About Mediation
Mediation Information Office
Mediation Co-ordinator's Offices
Mediation Videos
Practice Directions
Working Party on Mediation
Mediation Figures and Statistics
Judgments related to Mediation
Publications
Press Releases
Speeches
Related Links
Relevant Papers
Hong Kong Judiciary
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

Working Party on Mediation

Print繁體版简体版
 
Terms of reference
Membership
Background
Civil Justice Reform
Mediation in Construction Cases
Mediation in Building Management Cases
Mediation in Companies Cases
Mediation for Personal Injuries Cases
Pledges by the legal profession
Mediation Information Office
Joint Mediation Helpline Office Ltd
Mediation for Land Compulsory Sale Cases
Report on Mediation
New Practice Direction 15.10 on Family Mediation
Mediation in Probate and Administration of Estate Proceedings
Sponsorship for Family Mediation services
Mediation Training for Judges and Judicial Officers
Mediation Training for Supporting Staff

 

Terms of reference

To consider how consensual mediation of civil disputes in the Court of First Instance, the District Court and the Lands Tribunal may be facilitated, having regard to its economic and social benefits and taking into account developments in mediation in other common law jurisdictions.

page top

Membership

Chairman:  
The Hon Mr Justice Lam VP  
   
Members:  
The Hon Mr Justice Fung  
The Hon Mr Justice Au  
The Hon Madam Justice B. Chu  
The Hon Mr Justice Lok  
Mr Registrar Lung Kim-wan  
His Honour Judge Ko  
Mr Simon Lee, Department of Justice  
Mr Chris Chong, Legal Aid Department  
Ms Elaine Liu  
Mrs Cecilia Wong  
Mr Chan Bing-woon, SBS, JP  
   
In attendance:  
Mrs Erika Hui Lam Yin-ming  
Deputy Judiciary Administrator (Operations)  
   
Ms April Lam  
Senior Mediation Affairs Officer  
   
Secretary:  
Ms Eva Kong  
Mediation Affairs Officer  

page top

Background

The Working Party on Mediation was established in January 2007. Its terms of reference are to consider how consensual mediation of civil disputes may be facilitated in various levels of courts.

At the Legal Year Opening of 2007, the Chief Justice gave the following guidance for the operation of this Working Party,

“First, it is concerned with the facilitation of consensual mediation, that is, where the parties by their own choice agree to engage in mediation. Secondly, where the parties agree to try mediation, it will be undertaken by a mediator outside the Judiciary selected by the parties. Thirdly, since mediation is still developing in Hong Kong, it is appropriate for the Working Party to adopt a gradual approach.”

It was agreed at the first meeting of the Working Party on Mediation that the Working Party would focus on measures to be taken within the Judiciary to promote and facilitate mediation in the resolution of civil disputes. Since then, the Working Party has been holding regular meetings.

page top

Civil Justice Reform

The Civil Justice Reform was implemented starting 2 April 2009. One of the Practice Directions introduced, ie, PD31 on Mediation, laid down the procedures for encouraging parties to resolve their disputes by alternative dispute resolution in civil proceedings in the Court of First Instance and the District Court. The Practice Direction was discussed in the Working Party and after taking into consideration the views of the legal and mediation professional bodies, the Chief Justice agreed to defer the implementation date of this Practice Direction till 1 January 2010.

page top

Mediation in Construction Cases

In September 2006, the Judiciary introduced a two-year pilot scheme for mediation of construction disputes. After the conclusion of the pilot scheme in April 2009, the Working Party reviewed the results of the pilot scheme and subsequently the Judiciary decided to make the pilot scheme permanent by Practice Direction 6.1. Notably, the Practice Direction provides that an “adverse costs order” may be made against parties who unreasonably refused or failed to attempt mediation.

page top

Mediation in Building Management Cases

In January 2008, the Judiciary introduced a pilot scheme to promote mediation in building management cases in the Lands Tribunal. The Working Party reviewed the result of the pilot scheme. In May 2009, the Judiciary decided to adopt the measures in the pilot scheme as the standard practice with effect from 1 July 2009 by issuing President’s Direction LTPD: BM No. 1/2009.

page top

Mediation in Companies Cases

In October 2008, the Judiciary introduced a one-year pilot scheme for voluntary mediation in petitions presented under sections 168A and petitions for winding up on the just and equitable ground under 177(1)(f) of the Companies Ordinance (Cap.32). On conclusion of the pilot scheme, the Working Party was satisfied with the result. A new Practice Direction was introduced to make the pilot scheme a permanent feature.

page top

Mediation for Personal Injuries Cases

The Working Party explored the facilitation of mediation for personal injuries cases. A sub-group on Personal Injuries litigation was set up in February 2008. A study on the New Insurance Mediation Pilot Scheme (NIMPS) administrated by the Mediation Council for Employee Compensation Cases was carried out.

The NIMPS was first launched at a stage before Legal Aid was extended to mediation. In November 2011, the Hong Kong Federation of Insurers and the Hong Kong Mediation Council jointly marked the satisfactory completion of the NIMPS which had successfully achieved the purpose of settling disputes in resolving employees’ compensation and work related personal injury claims. The completion of the NIMPS has marked a good start for the development of mediation.

page top

Pledges by the legal profession

Under the guidance of the Working Party, the two legal professions have included in their code of practices a pledge for their members to advise clients on the option of mediation in appropriate cases.

page top

Mediation Information Office

The Judiciary has set up two Mediation Co-ordinators’ Offices, one for Family Cases and one for Building Management Cases in the Lands Tribunal, to provide information and enquiry services for the public on mediation matters in specific areas.

To provide a focal point of enquiry of mediation in all court levels, the Judiciary set up a Mediation Information Office in the High Court starting 4 January 2010 to tie in with the implementation of Practice Direction 31 on Mediation. While the existing Mediation Coordinators’ Offices would continue to serve the court users in family and building management cases, the Mediation Information Office would hold information sessions regularly and introduce to the other court users what mediation is. Members of the public would be advised of the roles of mediators and how mediation sessions would be conducted. However, unlike the Mediation Coordinators’ Offices, the Mediation Information Office would not play the role of co-ordinator between litigants and mediators. It is believed that such a role should be undertaken by the mediation profession. To facilitate that, the Judiciary supports the idea of setting up of a Joint Mediation Helpline Office Ltd in the High Court Building.

page top

Joint Mediation Helpline Office Ltd

To prepare for the implementation of Practice Direction 31 on Mediation, the idea of setting up a Joint Mediation Helpline Office Ltd (“JMHO”) by the professional bodies was discussed under the guidance of the Working Party. JMHO is a non-profit-making organization and has been in operation since 12 July 2010. It aims to promote the use of mediation as a means of dispute resolution in Hong Kong. It provides one-stop mediation referral services for parties in need of mediation services, particularly for parties in litigation.

page top

Mediation for Land Compulsory Sale Cases

To encourage parties involved in cases under the Land (Compulsory Sale for Redevelopment) Ordinance (Cap 545) to consider mediation, the Working Party supported and welcomed the issuing of President’s Direction LTPD: CS No.1/2011 on 15 February 2011. The Lands Tribunal will take into account whether the parties have engaged in mediation when hearing applications for compulsory sale and in exercising its discretion on costs under the Ordinance.

page top

Report on Mediation

To maintain a clearer picture as to the time and costs required for mediation, the Working Party decided that empirical data should be collated from cases in court where mediation had taken place. Starting in 2010, represented parties who intend to seek mediation for the resolution of disputes are directed by court to report the result of mediation as per a form (the “Report on Mediation”) as soon as practicable after mediation.

To reduce the motive to conduct sham mediation and to facilitate the exercise of case management power of the court, apart from reporting the time and costs spent on mediation, the represented parties are now required to provide information on the stages of mediation completed, date of appointing mediator, date of completion of mediation and name of the mediator (optional), in the Report on Mediation. The Working Party would continue to monitor the situation closely and consider taking appropriate action if necessary.

page top

New Practice Direction 15.10 on Family Mediation

In order to harmonize the measures adopted to encourage parties to engage in mediation in civil proceedings under PD31 with the current Practice Direction on Family Mediation, a new Practice Direction on Family Mediation was promulgated in May 2012. The Working Party welcomed and supported the New PD15.10 incorporating the spirit introduced by the Civil Justice Reform and the Court’s power to manage practical issues emerged in the mediation process as those in civil proceedings under PD31. With such modification, the duties of the parties and their legal representatives would be specified and the procedure for mediation in the Matrimonial Proceedings and the Family Proceedings would be set out in more details. A new pamphlet on Family Mediation was issued to introduce mediation to the litigants at the same time.

page top

Mediation in Probate and Administration of Estate Proceedings

In probate disputes, parties are usually immediate family members or are known or related to the deceased person. The Working Party is glad to note that new Practice Direction on Probate and Administration of Estate Proceedings, which took effect in August 2012, provides the procedures to encourage the parties to attempt mediation as a possible cost-effective means of resolving their disputes as well as for maintaining family harmony.

page top

Sponsorship for Family Mediation services

The Working Party noted that some non-governmental organizations (NGOs) had expressed concerns about the lack of funding to provide mediation service to family disputes. The Home Affairs Bureau (HAB) was invited to consider providing resources to NGOs for family mediation service from the family perspective. As family mediation is an effective way to resolve family disputes and help family members to alleviate the adverse effects arising from litigation, HAB considers it worthwhile to support family mediation, so that the community as a whole will benefit from a wider adoption of mediation service. In this regard, a two-year pilot scheme was set up in 2012 under which the Family Council, through the HAB, providing direct sponsorship to interested organizations for provision of family mediation service.

page top

Mediation Training for Judges and Judicial Officers

The Working Party has monitored the training for judicial officers in respect of mediation. As at 15 February 2013, 43 Judges and Judicial Officers have become accredited mediators.

page top

Mediation Training for Supporting Staff

The Working Party has also monitored the training on mediation provided for supporting staff of the Judiciary. A workshop on mediation was conducted on 12 November 2009 by the Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution (CEDR). A general introduction on mediation and Practice Direction 31 conducted by The Hon Mr Justice Lam (as he then was) was held on 10 December 2009. Various induction and revision courses covering the topic Civil Justice Reform, including Mediation, were conducted to new comers and supporting staff of the Judiciary in due course.

page top

幻燈圖片播放 幻燈圖片停止
歡迎辭
關於調解
調解資訊中心
調解統籌主任辦事處
調解短片
實務指示
調解工作小組
調解統計數字
有關調解的判案書
司法機構刊物
新聞稿
演辭
相關網站
參考文件
司法機構
遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

調解工作小組

列印简体版English Version
 
職權範圍
成員名單
背景
民事司法制度改革
建築案件的調解
建築物管理案件的調解
公司案件的調解
人身傷亡案件的調解
法律專業團體的承諾
調解資訊中心
聯合調解專線辦事處
強制售賣土地案件的調解
調解報告書
新實務指示15.10 家事調解
涉及遺囑認證及遺產管理程序的調解
為家事調解服務提供資助
法官和司法人員的調解培訓
支援人員的調解培訓

 

職權範圍

因應調解的經濟及社會效益和在其他普通法適用地區的發展,研究如何在高等法院原訟法庭、區域法院及土地審裁處的民事糾紛中,促進各方當事人在一致同意的情況下達成調解。

回頁首

成員名單

主席:  
高等法院上訴法庭副庭長林文瀚  
   
委員:  
高等法院原訟法庭法官馮驊  
高等法院原訟法庭法官區慶祥  
高等法院原訟法庭法官朱珮瑩  
高等法院原訟法庭法官陸啟康  
高等法院司法常務官龍劍雲  
區域法院法官高勁修
律政司李伯誠先生
法津援助署莊因東先生
廖玉玲女士
黃吳潔華女士
陳炳煥先生,SBS,JP
   
列席:  
許林燕明女士
司法機構副政務長(運作)
   
林雪兒女士
高級調解事務主任
   
秘書:  
江卓盈女士
調解事務主任

回頁首

背景

調解工作小組於2007年1月成立,其職權範圍是研究如何在各級法院的民事訴訟中,促使各方當事人在一致同意的情況下進行調解。

在2007年法律年度開啟典禮上,終審法院首席法官就工作小組的運作提供以下的指引:

“第一,其研究範疇是如何促使各方當事人在一致同意的情況下進行調解,即各方當事人是自願參與調解。第二,如各方當事人都同意嘗試進行調解,調解工作將由有關各方所挑選的司法機構以外的調解員負責。第三,由於調解在香港仍處於發展階段,工作小組宜採取循序漸進的方針開展其工作。”

調解工作小組在首次會議上協定,小組將集中研究如何在司法機構内制定措施,藉此推廣調解服務,促使各方當事人循此途徑解決民事糾紛。之後,工作小組定期舉行會議。

回頁首

民事司法制度改革

民事司法制度改革於2009年4月2日起實施。其中一份實施的實務指示,即“實務指示31 – 調解”内訂明各項程序,藉此鼓勵各方當事人在高等法院原訟法庭和區域法院的民事訴訟中,採用另類調解程序解決彼此的爭議。工作小組曾就該實務指示進行討論,終審法院首席法官經考慮各個法律和調解專業團體的意見,同意將該實務指示的生效日期推延至2010年1月1日。

回頁首

建築案件的調解

2006年9月,司法機構就建築爭議引入一項爲期兩年的調解試驗計劃。試驗計劃於2009年4月完結後,工作小組就計劃的成效進行檢討。司法機構其後決定發出“實務指示6.1”,藉此使試驗計劃中的安排成為永久措施。須注意,該實務指示訂明,任何一方如拒絕或不嘗試進行調解,而又沒有合理解釋,法庭可作出對其不利的訟費命令。

回頁首

建築物管理案件的調解

2008年1月,司法機構在土地審裁處引入試驗計劃,藉此在建築物管理案件中推廣調解服務。經工作小組檢討試驗計劃的成效後,司法機構在2009年5月透過“土地審裁處庭長指示:LTPD: BM No. 1/2009”,把試驗計劃中的措施制定為標準指示,由2009年7月1日起生效。

回頁首

公司案件的調解

2008年10月,司法機構推行爲期一年的自願調解試驗計劃,該計劃適用於根據香港法例第32章《公司條例》第168A條而提出的呈請,以及根據同一條例第177(1)(f)條以公正公平為理由的清盤呈請。試驗計劃結束後,工作小組對計劃的成效感到滿意。司法機構已發出新的實務指示,把試驗計劃内的安排制定爲永久措施。

回頁首

人身傷亡案件的調解

工作小組探討如何在人身傷亡案件中,促使各方當事人參與調解,並於2008年2月成立人身傷亡訴訟專責小組。專責小組就香港調解會推行的“新保險調解試行計劃”進行研究,以決定有關措施是否適用於僱員補償案件。

在法律援助尚未涵蓋至調解時,新保險調解計劃已首先推出。在2011年11月,香港保險業聯會與香港調解會表示新保險調解計劃取得豐碩成果,解決僱員補償和工傷有關的索償糾紛,成功達到預期效果。該計劃的圓滿結束,正好標誌著調解服務另一階段的良好開始。

回頁首

法律專業團體的承諾

在工作小組的指導下,兩個法律專業團體已在專業守則中加入一項承諾,表明其成員會在適合的案件中,建議當事人考慮循調解途徑解決爭議。

回頁首

調解資訊中心

司法機構設立了兩個調解統籌主任辦事處,分別就家事案件和土地審裁處的建築物管理案件,向公衆人士就特定範疇内的調解事宜提供資訊和查詢服務。

為集中處理有關各級法院調解事宜的查詢,司法機構於2010年1月4日開始,在高等法院大樓設立調解資訊中心,以配合“實務指示31 - 調解”的實施。現行的調解統籌主任辦事處將繼續為家事案件和建築物管理案件中的法院使用者提供服務,調解資訊中心則會定期舉辦調解資訊講座,向其他法院使用者介紹調解的安排。公衆人士將得悉調解員的角色,以及了解調解會議如何進行。但有別於調解統籌主任辦事處的是,訴訟人與調解員之間的聯絡工作並非由調解資訊中心負責,這聯絡人的角色會由專業的調解員擔任。為使有關工作能順利進行,司法機構贊成在高等法院大樓設立聯合調解專線辦事處的構思。

回頁首

聯合調解專線辦事處

為即將實施的“實務指示31- 調解”作好準備,各專業團體已在工作小組的指導之下,就成立聯合調解專線辦事處的構思進行討論。聯合調解專線辦事處於2010年7月12日開始運作,是以非牟利擔保有限公司模式成立,旨在推動調解成為在香港解決爭議的方法之一。辦事處為需要使用調解服務來解決糾紛的當事人,特別是訴訟人士,提供一站式調解轉介服務。

回頁首

強制售賣土地案件的調解

為鼓勵有關各方在《土地(為重新發展而強制售賣)條例》(第545章)進行的強制售賣土地的案件中考慮調解,工作小組支持及歡迎司法機構在2011年2月15日發出“土地審裁處庭長指示:LTPD: CS No. 1/2011”。土地審裁處會把訴訟人士有否參與調解程序,加入作為根據條例進行的強制售賣土地案件的審理和裁定訟費的其中一項考慮。

回頁首

調解報告書

為了進一步瞭解調解服務所需的時間及費用,工作小組決定收集在法院訴訟開展後曾進行調解個案的數據。由2010年起,有律師代表的訴訟人如有意循調解途徑解決爭議,必須按照法庭指示,在進行調解後,盡快填妥指定表格「調解報告書」,藉以向法庭報告調解的結果。

為了減低訴訟人進行虛假調解的動機,以及利便法庭行使案件管理的權力,有律師代表的訴訟人除了要向法庭報告調解所用時間、費用等資料外,他們並須在調解報告書中述明完成調解的階段,委任調解員的日期、調解會議結束日期及自行選擇提供調解員的名字。工作小組會繼續緊密監察情況, 並在必要時採取適當的措施。

回頁首

新實務指示15.10 家事調解

為使家事調解的實務指示內鼓勵訴訟人嘗試調解的措施,與實務指示31內有關民事法律程序所採用的鼓勵措施協調一致,司法機構在2012年5月發出新修訂的家事調解實務指示。工作小組歡迎及支持新修訂的實務指示涵蓋了由民事司法制度改革引入的革新精神,以及授予法庭權力,猶如根據實務指示31內有關民事法律程序中,可由法官作出適當的指引,處理有關調解的具體安排。此外,新修訂的實務指示更詳細說明,訴訟人和其法律代表須探討採用調解的責任,及訂明在婚姻法律程序和家事法律程序中進行家事調解的程序。司法機構同時印製了新一份家事調解小冊子,向訴訟人介紹家事調解服務。

回頁首

涉及遺囑認證及遺產管理程序的調解

在遺囑認證爭議中,訴訟各方一般都是直系親屬或與死者認識或有關的人。工作小組欣然得悉新修訂有關遺囑認證及遺產管理程序的實務指示,在2012年8月生效。該實務指示列出的訂明程序,鼓勵各方嘗試調解,藉此合乎成本效益的方式去解決彼此的爭議,並維持家庭和諧。

回頁首

為家事調解服務提供資助

工作小組察悉,許多非政府機構表示缺乏資源,為涉及家庭或婚姻糾紛的當事人提供家事調解服務。民政事務局獲邀研究能否提供資源,資助非政府機構提供家事調解服務。由於家事調解是解決家庭糾紛的有效方法,並可減輕訴訟對家庭成員之間的不良影響,民政事務局認同並支持家事調解服務,社會也因廣泛採用調解服務而有所禆益。故此,透過民政事務局,家庭議會於2012年成立了一項為期兩年的試驗計劃,直接資助有意提供家事調解服務的機構。

回頁首

法官和司法人員的調解培訓

在工作小組的督導之下,司法機構為司法人員提供有關調解的培訓。截至2013年2月15日爲止,43名法官及司法人員已成爲認可調解員。

回頁首

支援人員的調解培訓

工作小組也督導為司法機構支援人員提供的調解培訓。英國有效爭議解決中心 (簡稱CEDR) 已於2009年11月12日舉辦調解工作坊。高等法院原訟法庭林文瀚法官 (當時官階) 已於2009年12月10日就調解及“實務指示31- 調解”舉行一般性的簡介會。司法機構並於適當時間,向新入職及現職的支援人員提供有關民事司法制度改革,包括調解等專題介紹和溫習培訓。

回頁首